top of page

2020 Season Statistics

Updated: Mar 7, 2021

The headlines of the season are as follows, with full statistics to be published later:

Played 14 matches (Won 7 Drawn 3 Lost 4) from 12th July.

19 players played at least 3 times for us, and 9 of them played 7 or more matches or more than half.

The outstanding batsmen were David Henderson (349 runs avg 34.9) and Charlie Peach (313 avg 62.6). But there were many good contributions in their support with 2 centuries (Greig Stewart 107* v. Portsmouth and David Henderson 103 v. Hawkley) and 7 other scores of 50 or more being scored. Therefore, David Henderson has won the Lovett-Turner Trophy for the second successive year.

The outstanding bowlers were Mike Beardall (23 wickets at 14.6 runs per wkt) and Neil Wood (22 at 15.2), with Paul Woolvine (16 at 18.7) close behind. So, Mike wins the Ken Bowelling Trophy for Bowling (for the 8th time in 12 years!), beating Neil to it in his last spell of the season!

In the battle for the Don Rock Cup for 2020, David Henderson won the Gold (739 points) and the Cup, Neil Wood the Silver (663) and Charlie Peach Bronze (573).

Finally, we have a new trophy in the form of a signed “Matt” Cartoon from the Daily Telegraph – kindly acquired by Nigel Lovett-Turner – “It’s ridiculous that cricket isn’t allowed. Nobody in our team has ever caught anything” accompanied by a very appropriate drawing. While there were some very clear and possibly embarrassed contenders for the first presentation of the award, actually the Club is the first winner for 2020, for having kept Covid_19 at bay during the season (fingers crossed for the future).

56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page