top of page

New Year's Day Teams Announced

The scene is set for the special match at the ‘Cradle of Cricket’ to Launch the 250th Anniversary of First Class Cricket Commemorations between the Broadhalfpenny Brigands and the Hampshire Huskies.

The Brigands team includes:

Gerry Northwood

Guy Ladenburg

Dougie Henderson

Mike Beardall

Neil Wood

Ben Jones

Adam Jay

David Hemsley

James Dingemans

Paul Bailey

The Huskies include local players from Hambledon, Havant and Portsmouth as well as invited Journalists:

David Henderson

Jon Hotten

Huw Turbevill

Ben Turbevill

Pete Hayward

Matty Hayward

Chris Pratt

Jonny Pratt

Rick Marston

Simon Jones

Umpires: Mark Haylett, Bryan Burns, Nick Harris, Clive Barnett

Scorers: Peter Danks, Caroline Beardall

Previous New Year’s Day Games featured The Eskimos v The Invalids in 1929, and Hambledon v Adi Aymes Benefit XI in 2000. The format this time is pairs cricket, 4 overs per pair.

Coffee at 11.30am, Match commences at Noon, Roast Dinner available in the Bat and Ball at 2.30pm.

110 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page